Less than 10 minutes from Mâcon town centre and less than 5 minutes from the Autoroute du Soleil, the village of Sennecé-lès-Mâcon is home to our hotel and is a quiet and leafy spot. Ideal for a couples’ weekend or family holidays, it is a friendly setting, with wide open spaces and ancient history.
The first known entries refer to the village of Sennecé-lès-Mâcon in the 9th century under the name of Villa Senisciacus. The village took off in the 10th century around farmers and lords. The first was Hugues de Sennecé. The fiefdom was passed down to the family of Count Louis de Drée, former Empire officer, then to Mr. Petit, who sold the château to the commune in 1964.
The tower near to the hotel is the remains of the medieval castle, which was an imposing residence erected in 1650. It is also famous for the legend of Charles Dorel, a farmer who was mysteriously taken prisoner by the Marquis of Gorges in 1788.
Today, the 1200-strong village, which has added lès-Mâcon to its name to refer to its proximity to the village of Mâcon, is a charming stop in Southern Burgundy.